There is no custom code to display.

There is no custom code to display.

Candidate qualifying continues today

March 3, 2020–6:53 a.m.


Early voting for the Presidential Preference Primary continues today at the Floyd County Administration Building downtown.

Meanwhile, candidate qualifying for other local, state and federal offices began Monday.

Dave Roberson and Ronnie Kilgo qualified to run for sheriff.

Melinda Strickland qualified for re-election in Post 2 on the Floyd County Board of Education while Jay Shell qualified in Post 3 and Danny Waits qualified in Post 5.

Barbara Penson and Joe Costolnick have qualified for Clerk of Superior Court.

Kevin Payne has qualified for another term as tax commissioner.

For Floyd County Commission, incumbents Wright Bagby and Allison Watters qualified in Posts 2 and 3, respectively.

There remain several additional announced candidates who will be qualifying Tuesday and Wednesday.