There is no custom code to display.

There is no custom code to display.

Candidate qualifying ends Friday

March 5, 2020–8:05 a.m.


Candidate qualifying continues today.

Candidate qualifying continues today.

A number of candidates for local offices have qualified to run in the upcoming election.

They include Dave Roberson, Ronnie Kilgo and Tom Caldwell for sheriff.

Leigh Patterson for district attorney.

Jack Neiedrach for Floyd Superior Court judge.

Melinda Strickland qualified for re-election in Post 2 on the Floyd County Board of Education while Jay Shell qualified in Post 3 and Danny Waits qualified in Post 5.

Barbara Penson and Joe Costolnick have qualified for Clerk of Superior Court.

Kevin Payne has qualified for another term as tax commissioner and Gene Proctor has qualified for the coroner’s job.

For Floyd County Commission, incumbents Wright Bagby and Allison Watters qualified in Posts 2 and 3, respectively.

For US Senate, David Perdue as qualified along with Democrats James Knox, John Ossoff and Teresa Pike Tomlinson.

For Congress in District 14, seven Republicans have qualified for the seat held by Tom Graves.  They are John Barge, Ben Bullock, Kevin Cooke, John Cowan, Clayton Fuller, Marjorie Taylor Green and Bill Hembree.

Chuck Hufstetler has qualified to seek another term in the Georgia State Senate.

In the Georgia House of Representatives, Katie Dempsey and Eddie Lumsden have qualified.

The General Election Primary is May 19 and the General Election is November 3.