There is no custom code to display.

There is no custom code to display.

16 FCS Students Move Forward in Governor’s Honors Selection Process

November 10th, 2020 – 2:50 PM

Floyd County Schools –  

Dedicated students competed recently for the opportunity to go to school during the summer. 16 of Floyd County Schools’ (FCS) top students were selected to advance in the Governor’s Honors Program (GHP) selection process and will interview at the state level for an opportunity to participate in the program. GHP is a four-week summer instructional program designed to provide intellectually gifted and artistically talented high school students with challenging and enriching educational opportunities not usually available during the regular school year. The 16 sophomores and juniors selected will represent FCS in the GHP state interviews to be held in January and February.

GHP will take place on the campus of Berry College for the fourth time this summer. The program was canceled for the summer of 2020 due to COVID-19. Rising juniors and seniors in Georgia public and private high schools are eligible to be nominated by their teachers to participate in the program. The program is fully funded by the Georgia General Assembly, so there is no charge for students to attend. For four weeks, students spend the morning in their major area of nomination, exploring topics not usually found in the regular high school classroom. During the afternoons, students choose one of the other areas in which to study. The curriculum in all areas is challenging and engaging. Evenings are filled with seminars, activities, concerts, and performances.

Each applicant must go through a very extensive selection process to be invited to participate in the program. Transcripts of grades and records, nomination forms, endorsements, and other pertinent information are submitted to substantiate the nominations and the students must interview with a local screening committee.

Congratulations to the following 16 District finalists and three alternates for GHP. They will represent FCS in the next level of competition.

Armuchee High School

Matthew Campbell, sophomore, Social Studies- History

Nickolas Lewis Fero, sophomore, Social Studies- History

David Walker Lane, sophomore, Mathematics

Aidan Crawford Mowery, sophomore, Social Studies- History

McKinzy Raine Snyder, sophomore, Communicative Arts


Coosa High School

Heleen Dilshad Akrayee, sophomore, Science- Chemistry

Shania Monae McConnell, sophomore, Dance

Zachary Clay Wright, sophomore, Music- Voice: Bass


Model High School

Emma Elizabeth Couch, sophomore, Communicative Arts

Isabel Suzanne Edwards, junior, Social Studies- History

John Spencer Lawing, junior, Engineering- Mechanical and Electrical Engineering

Terry Lee Lynn, junior, Dance

William Jakob Marshall, junior, Mathematics

Luke Charles Naddy, junior, Agricultural Research, Biotechnology, and Science


Pepperell High School

Diana Almaras Bucio, junior, Social Studies- History

Ashton Gage Vincent, junior, Agricultural Research, Biotechnology, and Science



Molly Wrenn Burton, Model High, junior, Science- Biology

Sarah Catherine Jenkins, Coosa High, junior, Social Studies- History

Kaden Stephen Pajor, Pepperell High, junior, Social Studies- History


Major instructional areas are agricultural research, biotechnology and science, communicative arts, dance, engineering, mathematics, music, science, social studies, theatre performance, visual arts, and world languages. Students also select a minor area outside their major area of study. These include all the major instructional areas as well as additional offerings that reflect the interests and abilities of the instructional staff.