There is no custom code to display.

There is no custom code to display.

Six Floyd County Students Named $10,000 REACH Georgia Scholarship Recipients

April 3rd, 2021

Floyd County Schools –

Six Floyd County Schools (FCS) eighth graders and their parents or guardians signed their REACH (Realizing Educational Achievement Can Happen) Georgia Scholarships before counselors, school administrators, and FCS administrators to become members of the REACH Scholars Class of 2025.

The FCS 2020 REACH Georgia Scholars are:

  • Sadie Alldredge, Armuchee High

  • Daniela Bartolo-Lucas, Coosa High

  • Collin Cantrell, Model High

  • Desire Devore, Pepperell High

  • Jyshughn Turner, Coosa High

  • Alivia Warren, Pepperell High

REACH Georgia is a needs-based mentorship and scholarship program that begins in eighth grade. It is a program that is a part of the state’s Complete College Georgia initiative, which was created by Gov. Nathan Deal to increase by 60 percent the number of Georgians graduating with relevant postsecondary degrees by 2025, to support the state’s ever-changing workforce.

REACH Scholars are paired with a mentor and an academic coach through middle and high school. Scholars must maintain good grades (2.5 GPA), behavior and attendance through middle school and high school. Scholars who successfully complete the program and graduate from high school are awarded a $10,000 scholarship ($2,500/year) that can be used at any HOPE-eligible institution in Georgia. Representatives from Shorter University’s School of Education attended the signing ceremonies and informed the families that as a postsecondary partner of the program, they would generously match the full REACH scholarship amount for any Scholar that chooses to attend the school.